When Your Heart Is Overwhelmed

“Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer; from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is overwhelmed. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I, for You have been my refuge, a strong tower against the enemy. Let me dwell in Your tent forever! Let me take refuge under the shelter of Your wings!” -Psalm 61:1-4

I don’t know about you guys, but midterms are coming up, and my heart, at least, is overwhelmed. How am I gonna fit everything in? I honestly have no idea. In fact, should I be doing homework and studying right now instead of blogging? Arguably yes (and you maybe should too, but I won’t judge).

I actually started this post about a week ago, and all I got down was the verse set. As I was thinking of different ways I could avoid my homework and still be somewhat productive, I remembered this post and decided to come back to it. And let me tell you, I was floored. I love these verses, and I needed them so much more today than I did a week ago. My heart is overwhelmed, but it doesn’t have to stay that way. Why not? Because there is a Rock higher than I, a Refuge for me when life goes a little sideways and I can’t stand on my own.

Friends, if your heart is overwhelmed, run to the One Who made you. He loves you, and He’ll shelter you, if only you’ll let Him.

About e2house

Biblical Counseling major at BJU. Caffeine addict. Saved by grace. Lover of Jesus Christ and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

