Trophy of Grace

“God loves to take despised, broken, messy situations and people and use them as trophies of grace.” -Brent Deedrick

Despised, broken, rejected, and used-
A disaster of my own making.
Bruised, battered, tired, and afraid-
A fragile mess, constantly breaking.

A light touch of wind and I fall apart;
A slight push, and I topple over,
Tossed by the waves of a turbulent life,
No shelter with which
to take cover.

But then Heaven opens, the King stoops down;
He takes me in His scarred, loving arms:
“I’ve chosen you, you are My child;
You are now safe from all harm.”

He picks up my pieces, my shame and despair;
He wipes all the tears from my face.
He molds me and makes me a new, holy thing,
A beautiful trophy of grace.

All of my ashes He makes beautiful-
I’m no longer a scandalous mess.
He takes away the darkness of my heart
And makes me a child of promise.

Now I belong to HimI’m His, and He’s mine;
I’m hid in the shade of His wings.
I’m no longer broken; I’m a trophy of grace,
And my soul has a new song to sing.

About e2house

Biblical Counseling major at BJU. Caffeine addict. Saved by grace. Lover of Jesus Christ and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Personal, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

