Peace in the Storm

lighthouse-keeper

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 4:6-7, ESV

Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” -John 14:27, ESV

“Casting all your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you.” -I Peter 5:7, ESV

I have a confession to make. This is the last week before finals, and I have been worried sick. About what? Well, a lot of things, honestly. About money, because that’s fairly tight right now (I am a college student, after all). About the two papers, two projects, three quizzes, and two tests that make up this academic week for me. About the six finals I have next week, and the two lectures I have to somehow find time to listen to before then. About that one class in which my grade teeters on the brink of two letters, and about how much I’m going to have to study to push it up.

Honestly, I have a lot to worry about. But then again, who doesn’t? If it’s not exams, it’s money; if it’s not money, it’s your job and that promotion you’ve been dying to get. If it’s not your parents, it’s your husband; if it’s not your husband, it’s your boyfriend and whether he’s going to propose at Christmas. We’ve all got something to stress over.

But what does God have to say about it? Does He say, “Hey, guys, I know you’ve got a lot to worry about, and it’s totally cool if you want to throw a pity party and stress so much you make yourself sick”? Does He say, “Go ahead and waste your time watching stupid YouTube videos to distract yourself from your problems”? No, He doesn’t. But what is His solution, if they aren’t my our solutions? “Do not be anxious about anything”-what??-“but in everything… let your requests be made known to God. That’s His solution. Crazy, I know, but instead of stressing out of our minds, we’re supposed to talk to Him. We’re called to pour out our hearts to the One Who made us. Why? Because “He cares for you.” What? He cares about me? Yeah, He does. He knows you’re stressed out and anxious, and He wants to help, because that’s Who He is.

So is that it, then? Tell Him about it and go back to freaking out? No. “The peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” “Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you.” He’s promised us peace, beyond compare and beyond understanding. That’s what you get when you trust Him: incredible and perfect peace in the storm.

It is well, it is well-
Through the storm, I am held!
It is well, it is well with my soul!

Photo credits: https://iconicphotos.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/a-storm-at-la-jument/

About e2house

Biblical Counseling major at BJU. Caffeine addict. Saved by grace. Lover of Jesus Christ and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

