Be Still and Know

“Be still and know that I am God…” -Psalm 46:10

Midterms. Crazy week at college. Every professor wants to get that one last grade in for this half of the semester, and so they all decide it would be a great idea to pretend that their class is the only one you’re taking and dump a truckload of crap on you that’s all due this week. As a result, I for one have been living in a constant state of worry and annoyance. Everything ticks me off this week. “Look at this chick, walking slow like we’ve all got all the time in the world. You wanna walk faster, so I can get to class before I die?” That kind of thing. Yeah, I’m that person.

But tonight, I had a chance to attend a prayer and worship service, and it was like a breath of fresh air. The theme was “God Is Love.” We basically spent forty-five minutes singing and reading verses about His love before splitting off into groups to pray, and it moved me to tears. It was like He wanted to remind me that in my chaos, the King is still on the throne. The world isn’t going to end if I don’t finish my 102 paper on time (I did though; yay me). I don’t need to get so stressed by my speech class that I forget what’s really important. And I don’t need to be that person. I just need to refocus. I am so blessed, and all I need to do is remember that.

About e2house

Biblical Counseling major at BJU. Caffeine addict. Saved by grace. Lover of Jesus Christ and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

