He Knows Me, He Loves Me, He Wants Me

Yesterday in church, the pastor spoke on John 17, which details Jesus’ prayer for His followers. Afterwards, the college kids split off and discussed the passage. We were asked the question, “When Jesus says, ‘Keep them in Your name,’ what does that look like? What are some qualities of God that would fall under that?” And we began to compile a list. One girl pointed out something that really stood out to me. In John 17:24, Jesus says, “Father, I want those You have given Me to be with Me where I am.” He wants to have us close to Him. I’d never really thought of it that way before, and neither had anyone else, it seemed. All of us were startled by this revelation. As our leader, Brent, said…

“This isn’t like when you know people are coming over, and all you can think is, ‘Oh, it’s so nice that they’re not here yet, and I still have a little time to myself.’ It’s not like that. He wants us. This is more like, ‘My niece is coming over and I can’t wait until she gets here!’ He didn’t die for you because you happened to be included in the sinner category. He died for you because He loves you, and He wants you.”

I knew this, of course, in my head, but I’d never heard it phrased like that before, and it floored me. He knows me, everything I am and everything I will be; He knows all my failures and flaws; He’s seen me at my very worst. But He loves me, and He wants me. I’ve never had that before. I am the perpetual third wheel, always the odd man out, merely tolerated and not truly wanted. But accepted and loved, not because of who I am, but in spite of it? Wow. That blows my mind.

So, when you’ve had a crap day, as all of us do, claim this verse. Always remember, He knows you; He loves you; and He wants you. I know I will.

About e2house

Biblical Counseling major at BJU. Caffeine addict. Saved by grace. Lover of Jesus Christ and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Personal, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

