Molding a Masterpiece

So, obviously, church was today. I wasn’t sure I was up to going, because last night was rough. Long story short, I got three hours of sleep and woke up with a massive headache and stuff. But I had this nagging feeling that I had to be there, and I had to work afterwards anyway. So I went.
Once church actually started, I discovered the reason behind the pull to go to church. My pastor spoke on Jeremiah 18:1-10, which, I’ll be honest, I’ve never actually read before. But his message was on “Molding a Masterpiece,” and I was immediately intrigued. He started talking about the Master’s mission, ministry, and message; and I just broke down. I’ve been going through a lot lately, and while I knew a lot of what Pastor spoke on, I’d never heard it presented this way before, and it really spoke to me.

“The mission of the Potter is to transform worthless clay into a masterpiece. Often His molding requires a beating, and the vessel can collapse even in the hands of the Potter. When it does, He has to remake it, and it hurts. But the ministry of the Potter is to find and fix our weaknesses. He never takes His hand off us, and He never gives up on us. The message of the Potter is absolute control. We need to be willing to give in to Him. That’s our job as the clay. Yes, it will hurt sometimes. But remember: the pain will pass, but the beauty it brings remains.”

That was basically a quick summary of the message, and it was simple. But it hit me really hard, and I started to cry. In the middle of church. It was really amazing to me, that He had basically dragged me to the service this morning because He wanted to speak to me. “Come to church this morning. I have something I want you to hear.” People say that God doesn’t speak to us anymore; and while it’s true that He no longer audibly talks to His people, He is speaking. You just have to be willing to listen.

“Master Potter, why do You labor all day / Giving such effort to rough, worthless pieces of clay? / Why such feeling in Your hands; why such care in every touch? / Why all the struggle? Your creation is nothing but dust.” // “I’m molding a masterpiece, / A work of great beauty! / I’m molding a masterpiece; / My labor’s not done. / A trophy, a treasure / Of worth beyond measure; / I’m molding a masterpiece, / A masterpiece of love.”

– Ron Hamilton, “Molding a Masterpiece”

About e2house

Biblical Counseling major at BJU. Caffeine addict. Saved by grace. Lover of Jesus Christ and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Molding a Masterpiece

  1. Chris Murray says:

    =’] “The Lord’s speaking, you just have to listen.” So true. Thanks for the encouragement

Leave a Reply

