Recovering Approval Junkie

This week I heard something that really struck a chord with me. It was written by my big sister’s college roommate, and it was something along these lines:

It no longer matters to me what other people think. As of this moment, I’m breaking free. I am declaring myself a “recovering approval junkie,” and the opinions of others no longer define who I am and what I’m worth. Everything I do now is motivated by the Cross and the approval of the One Who died for me.

I was really hit by this, because it occurred to me that I do the same thing. So often I look to the opinions of others, the approval of others, to tell me who I am and how much I’m worth. And so little I look to the Cross and the approval of Jesus to tell me these things. But no more. From this moment on, I too am declaring myself a “recovering approval junkie.” From this moment, I am no longer a slave to the opinions of other people, and they no longer define my worth. In truth, they never did, but I believed they did, and that was enough. I allowed them to control me because I believed they had to. But no more. I no longer believe that it has to be that way, and from now on my worth comes from the approval of the one Man Who loved me enough to die for me.

“If only you could see me yesterday, / Who I used to be before the change, / You’d see a broken heart, / You’d see the battlescars! / Funny how words just can’t explain / How good it feels to finally break the chains! / I’m not what I have done; / I’m what I’ve overcome!”

About e2house

Biblical Counseling major at BJU. Caffeine addict. Saved by grace. Lover of Jesus Christ and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Personal, Quotes, Songs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

